The University Council

Presided over by a Chairman of Council, the Governing Council of the University is the highest decision making body of the University. The council ensures and regulate the finances, assets, academic and administrative activities of the University. The Council is made up of government appointees, the vice-chancellor, and representatives of Technical University Administrators Association of Ghana (TUSAAG) Technical University Teachers Association of Ghana (TUTAG), Teachers and Workers Union of Ghana (TEWU), University Alumni.

Primarily, the University Governing Council functions to ensure:
The development and establishment of statues for constitution, powers, policy, structure, organization, financing and general management of the University.

The educational character and academic direction and integrity of the University and to ensure that students of the University have a high quality learning experience leading to academic awards which are subject to the application of appropriate academic standards.

Acquisition of assets for the use of the University through the appropriate standards

The determination of  financial procedure of the University.

The determination of the terms and conditions of appointment of the Vice-Chancellor and other staff of the University.

Appoint, promote and discipline the staff of the University on the advice of appropriate committees.

Consider and approve annual budgets, short-term, medium and long-term development proposals of the University.

Consider and approve the annual report.


Prof. Emmanuel James Flolu  Chairman
Prof. Ben Q. HonyenugaVice-Chancellor
Mad. Esther Happy EdjeaniGovernment Nominee
Ms. Levina Baah-NuakohGovernment Nominee
Mr. Hector Arnold Sam-TagoeGovernment Nominee
Mad. Diana AdikoGTEC
Mrs. Agnes BalasuRepresentative of CTVET
PendingRepresentative of Association of Ghana Industries
Mr. Newman DziedzoaveRepresentative of CHASS
Dr. Richard Fifi TurksonRepresentative of Convocation (Teaching)
Mr. Edem K. HonuRepresentative of Convocation (Non-Teaching)
Mr.Francios MahamaRepresentative of Teaching Staff Association
Mr. Ernest Mark TakuhRepresentative of Senior Staff Association
Mr. Charles Godwin AtadiRepresentative of Junior Staff Association
Mr. Simon Kwadjo Mesa AvorgahRepresentative of ALUMNI Association
Mr. Samuel Kissi AmpaduRepresentative of SRC
PendingRepresentative of Ghana Employers Association (GEA)
Mr. Harry Peter AdjimahRepresentative of Association of Technical Institutes

In Attendance

Prof. Christopher MensahPro-Vice-Chancellor
Dr. Christopher K. AmehoeRegistrar, Secretary